The official state flag of Arizona was officially adopted on February 17, 1917. It was designed by Colonel Charles W. Harris (adjutant general and chief administrative officer of Arizona) and was first sewn by Nan D. Hayden.

The 13 yellow and red rays represent both the Sun’s rays and the original 13 colonies of the United States of America. The colors red and yellow are used because they were the colors of the flag of the Spanish conquistadors led by Francisco Vasquez de Coronado, who entered Arizona in 1540 (looking for the legendary Seven Cities of Cibola). The copper-colored star in the middle represents copper mining, since Arizona produces more copper than any other state in the USA.

Showing all 2 results

  • Arizona State Flag: Nylon


    Arizona State Flag: Nylon


    Our top quality Arizona flag is made here in the USA by Valley Forge Flag. It’s made with heavyweight nylon and finished with a durable canvas heading with brass grommets to securely fasten it to your flagpole. This flag is great for indoor and outdoor use.

    SKU: N/A. Categories: , , .
  • Arizona Flag – 5′ x 8′ Polyester

    Arizona Flag

    Arizona Flag – 5′ x 8′ Polyester


    State flags for sale are made in the U.S.A.

    • Constructed with 100% 2×2 ply spun polyester
    • Combines durability, strength, and flyability with an overall rich feel
    • Ideal for extreme weather conditions, such as high wind and daily flying
    • All intricate emblems are accurately reproduced to fine detail
    • Complete with heavy canvas heading and brass grommets
    SKU: 58332030. Categories: , , .

State Facts

Admitted to Union
February 14, 1912 (48th state)
State Abbreviation
State Capital
Largest City
114,006 square miles [Arizona is the 6th biggest state in the USA]
6,626,624 (as of 2013) [Arizona is the 15th most populous state in the USA]
State Flower
Saguaro Cactus Blossom
State Bird
Cactus wren
Major Industries
mining (copper, molybdenum, gold, and silver), manufacturing, and tourism
Major Rivers
Colorado River, Little Colorado River, Gila River, Bill Williams River
Major Lakes
Lake Mead, Lake Havasu, Lake Mohave, Theodore Roosevelt Lake, San Carlos Lake, Lake Powell
Highest Point
Humphreys Peak – 12,633 feet (3,581 m) above sea level
Number of Counties
Bordering States
California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah